Copyright 2020 - Iowa Rural Health Association

About the IRHA

Mission Statement
The Iowa Rural Health Association is committed to:  strengthening health systems for rural residents and communities through leadership, education, advocacy, public awareness and networking.

Optimal health for all Iowans, with a focus on rural populations.

• Provide access to quality rural health services
• Advocate for rural health development
• Foster cooperative partnerships to improve rural health
• Support the work of other health interest groups in their efforts to improve rural health
• Improve public education and awareness of rural health policy issues
• Provide opportunities for leadership development through active membership involvement
• Promote the relationship between a viable rural health care delivery system and community economic development

History of the Iowa Rural Health Association
The Iowa Rural Health Association was established in 1993 through the efforts of the Office of Rural Health within the Iowa Department of Public Health's Bureau of Rural Health and Primary Care. The Iowa Rural Health Association, (IRHA) was organized as an Iowa Nonprofit Corporation under 504A of the Iowa Code.

The last meeting of the initial Iowa Rural Health Association was in September of 1994. At that time, the organization had 109 individual members and 26 organizational members.

In 1997, the State Rural Health Association Assistance Program, funded by the Office of Rural Health Policy, provided grant dollars to revitalize the IRHA Board of Directors, increase the membership base, develop effective communication tools, sponsor an annual conference and educational seminar and to develop an advocacy plan.

To view IRHA's By-Laws, click here.

The Iowa Rural Health Association is governed by a Board of Directors of between 9 and 15 active members of the association who serve 3 year terms. Board members are elected by majority vote of qualified members.  Current IRHA Board Members are:

 Bill Menner - President
The Bill Menner Group
Grinnell, IA
 Debra Hoyle- President Elect
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine
Office of Statewide Clinical Education Programs
Iowa City, IA
Jon Rosmann - Past President
Des Moines, IA

Samra Hiros -Secretary/Treasurer
American Lung Association
Des Moines, IA 

Megan Hartwig- IDPH Representative
Iowa Department of Public Health
Des Moines, IA
Katie McBurney
Iowa Department of Public Health
Monroe, IA
Courtney Long
Iowa State University
Ames, IA
Brandi Janssen
Iowa's Center for Agricultural Safety and Health
Iowa City, IA
 Kate Walton
Advocacy Source, LLC
Indianola, IA
Angela Mortoza
Dallas County Hospital
Perry, IA
 Mary Charlton
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA
Ben Woodworth
Iowa Association of Community Providers
Urbandale, IA
 Michael Trachta
Mercy Health Network
West Des Moines, IA

 Kelli Todd 
Iowa Healthcare Collaborative
Des Moines, IA

Teresa Bomhoff - Appointed Advisory Member
NAMI Greater Des Moines
Des Moines, IA


Administrative Staffing
Administrative staffing for IRHA is located in Des Moines and provided by Diversified Management Services (DMS). DMS works closely with the IRHA Board to promote its mission and goals, allowing the leadership time to focus on important issues that affect the membership. Current IRHA staff members are:

Bill Menner

(641) 990-4757
Contact the IRHA Office