Copyright 2020 - Iowa Rural Health Association

Jerry Karbeling Award

Iowa Rural Health Association

Jerry Karbeling Award

2019 Nominations are now being accepted! See below for more information

Winners of the Karbeling Award

2018 - Gloria Vermie, MPH, RN
2017 - Dr. Bernard Sorofman
2016 - Todd C. Linden, FACHE
2015 - TJ Johnsrud, RPh
2014 - Dr. Tom Evans
2013 - Dr. Kelley Donham
2012 - Dr.  Ken Anderson
2011 - Libby Coyte
2010 - Cheryl Clarke
2009 - Russell Currier
2008 - Carl Kulczyk (awarded posthumously)
2007 - Kathy Williams
2006 - Mary Weaver
2005 - Cheryll Jones

Jerry Karbeling was a member of the Iowa Rural Health Association and served on the Board for 5 years.  He served as President of the Association in 2002-2003. At the time of his death in 2005, Jerry was the Senior Vice President for Public Affairs and Corporate Development for the Iowa Pharmacists Association, a practicing community pharmacist, and owner of Big Creek Pharmacy in Polk City. He was a healthcare activist, an adjunct professor, and served on the City Council of Polk City.

The Iowa Rural Health Association seeks to recognize Jerry’s legacy, and to retain the memory of his contributions. The Jerry Karbeling award will be presented to an Iowan on an annual basis. The award will recognize an individual who has demonstrated successful activism for improving rural health and a commitment to community service as exemplified by Jerry.

The individual’s contributions should include:

1. Respected leader in the healthcare industry;
2. Community oriented as evidenced by serving on boards/committees, for the purpose of advancing a healthy lifestyle;
3. Activist as identified by participation and enthusiasm in developing public health policy.

The letter of nomination should include documentation to the above three categories and be accompanied by 3 letters of support speaking to the nominee's effectiveness as a health leader, a community minded individual, and previous policy contributions at the local, state, or national level.

The nomination should be submitted to the Iowa Rural Health Association.  To download the criteria and the nomination form, click the links below.

Jerry Karbeling Award Criteria

Jerry Karbeling Award Nomination Form

Contact IRHA